3 min read

IBCA 2023 Crawley, Mannies, Aikman Awards

IBCA 2023 Crawley, Mannies, Aikman Awards

40 Indiana high School seniors win ibca scholarships

Crawley, Mannies, Aikman awards announced for 2023 by statewide coaches' group

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                  Contact: Pat McKee, 317-403-1665
April 26, 2023                                                          IBCA Director of Special Projects
        Forty Indiana high school seniors have been named winners of 2023 scholarship awards from the Indiana Basketball Coaches Association, it was announced Wednesday (April 26).
        The IBCA -- a statewide coaches group with about 2,400 members -- this year is presenting a grant of $500 to each recipient in the names of Marion Crawley, Junior Mannies and Pat Aikman. Through the years, the IBCA has awarded about $780,000 in scholarships to Indiana student-athletes.
        "I would like to congratulate you for being selected as a recipient," IBCA executive director emeritus Steve Witty wrote in informing winners of the various selections. "... Thank you for your contributions to Indiana high school basketball, and best of luck as you move on to the college of your choice."
         A total of 37 Crawley Scholarships were presented to 18 boys' players, 14 girls' players and five student managers.
         The boys' recipients for 2023 are Creighton Bennett of Speedway, Elhadj Diallo of Brownsburg, Tymon Ferguson of Columbus North, Victor Garrett of Cowan, Milton Green of Gary West, Trey Hall of Plymouth, Malik Hasani of Indianapolis Tech, Rhys Hofer of East Central, Jase Howell of Madison-Grant, Blaine Marlatt of Cowan, Luke McDurmon of Evansville Mater Dei, Mitchell Milausnic of Lake Central, Carter Mundy of Jasper, Marcus Northern of South Bend Washington, Charles Rudolph of Carroll (Fort Wayne), Kenyan Troxel of Shenandoah, Cole Wheat of East Central and Evan Williamson of Hamilton Heights.
         The girls' recipients for 2023 are Chloe Browning of Washington, Cameran Cahall of Madison, Braelyn Carter of Lowell,  Emily Cissell of Borden, Raegan Hodge of Christian Academy of Indiana, Emma Long of Columbus North, Brett White, Lauren Luce of Wapahani, Cadence Mills of Vincennes Rivet, Anna Moore of Seeger, Kylie Palmer of White River Valley, Abby Parsons of Cascade, Lizzie Redar of Lawrenceburg, Jasmine Sherman of Princeton and Ava Weisheit of Gibson Southern.
         The student manager recipients for 2023 are Kasady Anderson of Forest Park, Brylie Harper of Gibson Southern, Rowdy Smith of John Glenn, Dylan Wetz of Seeger and Leo Ye of Forest Park.
         Criteria for the Crawley Scholarship includes achievement in basketball, achievement in academics, participation in extracurricular activities and service to one's school and community. Crawley was a former four-time boys basketball state championship coach -- two with the Washington Hatchets and two with the Lafayette Jeff Bronchos -- who amassed 644 career wins. He later became the first executive director of the IBCA.
         Brayden Denk, a boys' basketball student manager from Jasper, was the only winner of Mannies Scholarship for 2023.
         Mannies Scholarships are presented to students who have a physical handicap but have contributed to their respective school's athletic program. Mannies won 311 games as the boys'  basketball coach at Elwood, Mississinewa, Delphi and other schools. He served as the IBCA Job Placement Director from 1977-83.
        Two players -- Caleb Elliott of the Delta boys and Paige Laffoon of the Seeger girls -- are recipients of the 13th annual Pat Aikman Character and Leadership Awards. This scholarship is named for Aikman, the Indiana All-Star games director from 1988-2007 and former IBCA Coordinator of Special Projects.
        Criteria for the Aikman Award include achievements and contributions in basketball, scholastic achievement, extra-curricular activities, and service to school and community. Also, those considered for the Aikman Award are students who plan to enter the fields of journalism, sports management, athletic training or physical therapy.
        "These are deserving young people who help make coaching a great profession," Witty said of all the winners.
        A list of the 2023 IBCA Scholarship winners is below.
Student, School, Coach, Role
Kasady Anderson, Forest Park, Tony Hasenour, student manager
Creighton Bennett, Speedway, Chuck Bennett, boys' player
Chloe Browning, Washington, Gretchen Miles, girls' player
Cameran Cahall, Madison, Adam Dennis, girls' player
Braelyn Carter, Lowell, Kelli  Chavez, girls' player
Emily Cissell, Borden, Matt Vick, girls' player
Elhadj Diallo, Brownsburg, Steve Lynch, boys' player
Tymon Ferguson, Columbus North, Paul Ferguson, boys' player
Victor Garrett, Cowan, Aaron Groves, boys' player
Milton Green, Gary West, Christopher Buggs, boys' player
Trey Hall, Plymouth, Joel Grindle, boys' player
Brylie Harper, Gibson Southern, Kyle Brasher, student manager
Malik Hasani, Indianapolis Tech, Damon Turner, boys' player
Raegan Hodge, Christian Academy of Indiana, Carson Casey, girls' player
Rhys Hofer, East Central, David Disbro, boys' player
Jase Howell, Madison-Grant, Josh Hendrixson, boys' player
Emma Long, Columbus North, Brett White, girls' player
Lauren Luce, Wapahani, Scott Hudson, girls' player
Blaine Marlatt, Cowan, Aaron Groves, boys' player
Luke McDurmon, Evansville Mater Dei, Kurt Wildeman, boys' player
Mitchell Milausnic, Lake Central, Dave Milausnic, boys' player
Cadence Mills, Vincennes Rivet, Michael Mills, girls' player
Anna Moore, Seeger, Chad Wetz, girls' player
Carter Mundy, Jasper, John Goebel, boys' player
Marcus Northern, South Bend Washington, Ryan Varga, boys' player
Kylie Palmer, White River Valley, April Settles, girls' player
Abby Parsons, Cascade, Adam Parsons, girls' player
Lizzie Redar, Lawrenceburg, Zane White, girls' player
Charles Rudolph, Carroll (Fort Wayne), Ryan Abbott, boys' player
Jasmine Sherman, Princeton, Travis Conner, girls' player
Rowdy Smith, John Glenn, Travis Hannah, student manager
Kenyan Troxel, Shenandoah, Rick Ellsworth, boys' player
Ava Weisheit, Gibson Southern, Kyle Brasher, girls' player
Dylan Wetz, Seeger, Chad Wetz, student manager
Cole Wheat, East Central, David Disbro, boys' player
Evan Williamson, Hamilton Heights, Chad Ballenger, boys' player
Leo Ye, Forest Park, Drew Messmer, student manager

Student, School, Coach, Role
Brayden Denk, Jasper, John Goebel, student manager 

Student, School, Coach, Role
Caleb Elliott, Delta, Mark Detweiler, boys' player
Paige Laffoon, Seeger, Chad Wetz, girls' player
IBCA Boys Showcase 2023 News

IBCA Boys Showcase 2023 News


Read More
IBCA Team Showcase 2023 News

IBCA Team Showcase 2023 News

Fields set for 2023 IBCA/IHSAA Team Showcase eventsInaugural girls’ event June 16-17 at HSE, Mt. Vernon; fourth boys' event June 23-25 at Carmel,...

Read More
IBCA 2023 Crawley, Mannies, Aikman Awards

IBCA 2023 Crawley, Mannies, Aikman Awards

40 Indiana high School seniors win ibca scholarships

Read More