Administrators of the Year

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Contact: Pat McKee, 317-403-1665 March 23, 2023 IBCA Director of Special Projects

Three administrators to receive awards from IBCA

Pettit, Ecker and Cerqueira to be honored by basketball coaches' group
                 School administrators Chip Pettit of Chesterton, Brandon Ecker of Mt. Vernon (Fortville) and Jeff Cerqueira of Floyd Central will be recognized with special awards for 2023 from the Indiana Basketball Coaches Association.
                 The three administrators -- Pettit is superintendent of the Duneland School Corporation, Ecker is athletic director at Mt. Vernon and Cerqueira is athletic director at Floyd Central -- will be honored as Administrators of the Year from the IBCA. Each is being recognized for his support of programs in his school or school corporation. There is one winner from each IHSAA district. Pettit is the honoree from District 1. Ecker is cited from District 2. Cerqueira is the recipient from District 3.
                 This is the 15th time in the past 16 years that the IBCA has recognized a group of administrators with a set of awards. The awards have been presented since 2008, but the 2020 honorees received their awards in 2021 because of the COVID-19 pandemic. No winners were named in 2021. A list of winners from over the years is at the bottom of this announcement.
                 Pettit, Ecker and Cerqueira will receive their awards on April 20 during the 2023 IBCA Clinic at Mt. Vernon High School in Fortville. For more information about the IBCA, go to
                 More information follows about the 2023 IBCA Administrator of the Year honorees.


IBCA Administrator of the Year honorees