3 min read

2022 IBCA Crawley, Mannies and Aikman Awards

2022 IBCA Crawley, Mannies and Aikman Awards

24 Indiana high school seniors win IBCA scholarships

Crawley, Mannies, Aikman awards announced for 2022 by statewide coaches' group

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Contact: Pat McKee, 317-403-1665 April 26, 2022 IBCA Director of Special Projects

Twenty-four Indiana high school seniors have been named winners of 2022 scholarship awards from the Indiana Basketball Coaches Association, it was announced Tuesday (April 26).

The IBCA -- a statewide coaches group with about 2,400 members -- this year is presenting a grant of $750 to each recipient in the names of Marion Crawley, Junior Mannies and Pat Aikman. Through the years, the IBCA has awarded about $760,000 in scholarships to Indiana student-athletes.

"I would like to congratulate you for being selected as a recipient," IBCA executive director Steve

Witty wrote in informing winners of the various selections. "... Thank you for your contributions to Indiana

high school basketball, and best of luck as you move on to the college of your choice." A total of 20 Crawley Scholarships were presented to nine boys' players, 10 girls' players and one student manager

The boys' recipients for 2022 are Jack Ahlbrand of Jasper, Jasper Campbell of Shenandoah, Warren Halbig of Evansville Mater Dei, Cooper Hoog of East Central, Casey McQueen of East Central, Caleb Mergenthal of East Central, Nick Mundy of Mitchell, Isaac Tuma of Hamilton Heights and Dayveon Turner of Indianapolis Arsenal Tech.

The girls' recipients for 2022 are Alivia Dalrymple of Adams Central, Emma DeCamp of New Washington, Taylor Hart of Gibson Southern, Alex Holmes of Gibson Southern, Andrea Justis of Columbus North, Taylor Lynch of Madison, Annika Marlow of Rushville, Jada Rhonehouse of Fremont, Loren Stoll of Gibson Southern and Ella Wolfe of Tipton.

The student manager recipient for 2022 is Hannah Taylor of Roncalli.

Criteria for the Crawley Scholarship includes achievement in basketball, achievement in academics, participation in extracurricular activities and service to one's school and community. Crawley was a former four-time boys basketball state championship coach -- two with the Washington Hatchets and two with the Lafayette Jeff Bronchos -- who amassed 644 career wins. He later became the first executive director of the IBCA.

Will Delaney, a boys' player from Wes-Del, was the only winner of Mannies Scholarship for 2022.

Mannies Scholarships are presented to students who have a physical handicap but have contributed to their respective school's athletic program. Mannies won 311 games as the boys basketball coach at Elwood, Mississinewa, Delphi and other schools. He served as the IBCA Job Placement Director from 1977-83.

Three players -- Carson Brindle of the Gibson Southern boys, Jolie Groves of the Triton girls and Jordan Zody of the Shenandoah boys -- were honored as recipients of the 12th annual Pat Aikman Character and Leadership Awards, named for the former Indiana All-Star game director and former IBCA Coordinator of Special Projects.

Criteria for the Aikman Award include achievements and contributions in basketball, scholastic achievement, extra-curricular activities, and service to school and community. Also, those considered for the Aikman Award are students who plan to enter the fields of journalism, sports management, athletic training or physical therapy.

"These are deserving young people who help make coaching a great profession," Witty said of all the winners.

A list of the 2022 IBCA Scholarship winners is below.

Student, School, Coach, Role
Will Delaney, Wes-Del, John McGlothin, boys' player

MARION CRAWLEY AWARDS (20) Student, School, Coach, Role
Jack Ahlbrand, Jasper, John Goebel, boys' player

Jasper Campbell, Shenandoah, David McCollough, boys' player Alivia Dalrymple, Adams Central, Doug Curtis, girls' player
Emma DeCamp, New Washington, Kirsti Holloway, girls' player Warren Halbig, Evansville Mater Dei, Kurt Wildeman, boys' player Taylor Hart, Gibson Southern, Kyle Brasher, girls' player

Alex Holmes, Gibson Southern, Kyle Brasher, girls' player Cooper Hoog, East Central, David Disbro, boys' player Andrea Justis, Columbus North, Brett White, girls' player Taylor Lynch, Madison, Sonja Bowyer, girls' player
Annika Marlow, Rushville, Melissa Marlow, girls' player Casey McQueen, East Central, David Disbro, boys' player Caleb Mergenthal, East Central, David Disbro, boys' player Nick Mundy, Mitchell, Jackson Ryan, boys' player

Jada Rhonehouse, Fremont, Scott Sprague, girls' player
Loren Stoll, Gibson Southern, Kyle Brasher, girls' player
Hannah Taylor, Roncalli, Michael Wantz, student manager
Isaac Tuma, Hamilton Heights, Chad Ballenger, boys' player
Dayveon Turner, Indianapolis Arsenal Tech, Damon Turner, boys' player Ella Wolfe, Tipton, Chad Wetz, girls' player

Student, School, Coach, Role
Carson Brindle, Gibson Southern, Mark Rohrer, boys' player Jolie Groves, Triton, Kennedy Krull, girls' player
Jordan Zody, Shenandoah, David McCollough, boys' player

Benefits of Joining the IBCA

Benefits of Joining the IBCA

IBCA Membership Benefits Printable pdf click here Utilize the IBCA website – in.nhsbca.org – to stay abreast of issues related to our profession. $2...

Read More
IBCA/Franciscan Health POW Week 5

IBCA/Franciscan Health POW Week 5

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Contact: Brandon Bradley, 260-580-4799

Read More
Girls Poll Week 5

Girls Poll Week 5

Below are results of the IBCA girls' basketball poll for Week 5 (Dec. 3, 2023) Poll Committee

Read More